Our People

Karakusevic Carson Architects

Karen Scurlock

Associate Director

Karen’s focus is delivering buildings of exceptional quality on difficult urban sites through all RIBA stages, including complex mixed-use refurbishment projects such as the award-winning Faircharm Creative Quarter on Deptford Creek and The Record Hall in Holborn. 

Karen also works on local authority led housing projects including Bow River Village for Southern Housing, a 450 home mixed-use scheme located at the intersection of major infrastructure in East London. She has also delivered housing schemes for the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham and has developed proposals for a large-scale project for Lewisham Council, which is being developed as an exemplar scheme within the borough. Karen is an appointed panel member of the OPDC Place Review Group, formed of recognised practitioners who are helping to shape the future of Old Oak and Park Royal in London.

Karen joined the practice in 2012 and became Associate Director in 2014. She was previously a Senior Architect at AHMM, leading projects including the award-winning Raines Court modular housing scheme for the Peabody Trust and a healthcare centre in Kentish Town which was a finalist for the Stirling Prize in 2009.


Paul Karakusevic

Practice Director

Laura Cobb

Technical Director

John Moore

Associate Directors

Abigail Batchelor

Edward Blackett

Karen Scurlock

Maurizio Biadene

Sam McDermott


Ailbhe Reynolds

Caroline Hull

Daniel Buckley

Kieren Majhail

Luke Jackson

Sabine Rosenkranz

Suzanne Prest

Senior Architects

Amy Hiley

Christopher Storie

Edward Simpson

Karl Eriksson

Laura Cannon

Ludovica Frezza

Niall Anderson

Paola Zanotto

Rachael Barker

Sean McGee

Senior Urban Designers

Marta Reina

Patricia Calvino

Rebecca Miller


Alberto Coco

Anna Nicholls

Donald Moir

Eimear Egan

Eleanor Connolly

Emma Dochniak

Johnnie Llewellyn

Jon Barnard

Junaid Ghafoor

Louise Haggart

Matteo Canestrini

Michael Line

Nompsy Chigaru

Paul O'Brien

Richard Doyle

Pauline Combe

Lara Raposo

Sohanna Srinivasan

Sofia Santos

Tom Melson

Architectural Assistants

Andrew Hopper

Akramul Askaari

Austin Joseph

Ben Yeates

David Unterhofer

Emily Brown

Eoghan Hurley

Georgie Herety

Hara Anastasiou

Hiroshi Nagata

Julia Lubner

Laura Purdie

Lois Innes

Natallia Tanko

Darya Protsenko

Oliver Redmond

Oliver Simpson

Oyinkan Omotola

Robert Hamilton

Robert Haynes

Sam Napleton

Sam Nicholls

Yuka Koizuma

Urban Designers

Donata Satkauskaite


Dev Halai

Francisco Garcia Ruiz

Jai Balasubramanian

Maximo Cubero

Studio Manager

Billy James

Team Coordinator

Laura Egbi

Research & Development

Mike Althorpe


Ruth Daniels

Community & Engagement

Emma Newman

Hajir Kheder

Toni Dyer-Miller

Senior Engagement Manager

Madeleine Lundholm

Bids & Competitions

Andrew Knott


Adam Melville

Basil Vallis

Ed Burnett

Myka Cutamora

Back to topBack to top