Our People

Karakusevic Carson Architects

Sam McDermott


Sam works collaboratively with local authorities and residents to re-shape challenging sites across London. He is currently running a series of residential-led mixed-use projects for Brent Council, in the and South Kilburn Regeneration areas and the Wembley Housing Zone, as well as Jervis Court, a housing scheme with a focus on family dwellings in Dagenham.

Sam has also been the Associate in Charge of Bury Street West which will bring forward 50 low-energy homes on a former council depot site in Enfield, and revised masterplan options for the St Raphael’s Estate in Brent, a major project which has been developed through an extensive and in-depth co-design process with residents.

Prior to joining Karakusevic Carson Architects in 2012, Sam led a masterplan for the regeneration of the Aberfeldy Estate in East London at Casey Fierro Architects. He regularly appears as a guest critic for the Sir John Cass School of Art, Architecture and Design at London Metropolitan University.


Paul Karakusevic

Practice Director

Laura Cobb

Technical Director

John Moore

Associate Director

Karen Scurlock


Abigail Batchelor

Ailbhe Reynolds

Caroline Hull

Daniel Buckley

Edward Blackett

Kieren Majhail

Maurizio Biadene

Sam McDermott

Senior Architects

Edward Simpson

Karl Eriksson

Luke Jackson

Mark Smith

Paola Zanotto

Rachael Barker

Sabine Rosenkranz

Suzanne Prest

Senior Urban Designers

Patricia Calvino


Alberto Coco

Amy Hiley

Andrea Gamba

Anna Nicholls

Christopher Storie

Donald Moir

Eimear Egan

Eleanor Connolly

Emma Dochniak

Laura Cannon

Jon Barnard

Johnnie Llewellyn

Louise Haggart

Michael Line

Niall Anderson

Paul O'Brien

Richard Doyle

Sean McGee

Sohanna Srinivasan

Architectural Assistants

Benedict Spry

Ben Yeates

Eoghan Hurley

Hara Anastasiou

Hiroshi Nagata

Laura Purdie

Nana Biamah-Ofosu

Natallia Tanko

Robert Hamilton

Robert Haynes

Sam Nicholls

Tom Melson

Yuka Koizuma

Andrew Hopper

Urban Designers

Donata Satkauskaite

Rebecca Miller


Francisco Garcia Ruiz

Maximo Cubero

Studio Manager

Jorge Gárriz

Team Coordinator

Laura Egbi


Amanda Riley

Research & Development

Mike Althorpe


Ruth Daniels

Community & Engagement

Hajir Kheder

Senior Engagement Manager

Madeleine Lundholm

Bids & Competitions

Andrew Knott


Adam Melville

Austin Joseph

Daniel Poku Davies

Back to topBack to top